Twenty One Pilots Announce New Album 'Scaled and Icy'

Check out the first single "Shy Away"
Twenty One Pilots Announce New Album 'Scaled and Icy'
Twenty One Pilots are finally ending their silence. Today the duo announced they are returning with a new album called Scaled and Icy, and right now, you can check out its lead single "Shy Away."

Scaled and Icy is due out on May 21 via Fueled by Ramen, and it marks the sixth full-length from Twenty One Pilots. Their last album arrived via Trench back in 2018.

Down below, you can check out "Shy Away," which comes alongside a new video. It was directed by Miles & AJ.

Of the album as a whole, a press release explains the following:

Written and largely produced by Joseph in isolation over the course of the past year at his home studio, with Dun engineering the album's drums from across the country, Scaled and Icy is the product of long-distance virtual sessions and finds the duo processing their upended routines along with the prevailing emotions of 2020 — anxiety, loneliness, boredom, and doubt. The duo had to forgo their normal studio sessions but reached a new of level of introspection in the process, adopting a more imaginative and bold approach to their songwriting. The result is a collection of songs that push forward through setbacks and focus on the possibilities worth remembering.

And yes, that's the album cover above.

Scaled and Icy:

1. Good Day
2. Choker
3. Shy Away
4. The Outside
5. Saturday
6. Never Take It
7. Mulberry Street
8. Formidable
9. Bounce Man
10. No Chances
11. Redecorate

Pre-order Scaled and Icy.