The Internet's Matt Martians Unveils 'The Drum Chord Theory' Solo LP

The Internet's Matt Martians Unveils 'The Drum Chord Theory' Solo LP
On the heels of his Internet bandmate Syd announcing a solo project, songwriter and producer Matt Martians has revealed the details behind his own proper solo LP. Titled The Drum Chord Theory, Martians will self-release the record at the end of this month.

Written in his childhood bedroom in Atlanta, The Drum Chord Theory runs 12 tracks in length and features contributions from Syd, Steve Lacy and Karl Faux. Additional production credits come from Lacy, Faux, Kintaro, Tay Dreamin' and Martians' former Odd Future cohort Tyler, the Creator.

A press release positions The Drum Chord Theory as "the neo-soul, psychedelic, funkafied overtones that run throughout previous Internet records" in contrast to Syd's recent darker R&B drop. It further promises "stacked, octave-sprawling harmonies (sung by Martians), a drizzle of a dizzy Rhodes keyboard, Stevie Wonder-esque chord changes, and the drums turned up way past ten," recalling early sounds from Atlanta's own Dungeon Family.

The Drum Chord Theory will arrive on January 27 through AWAL/Kobalt Music and is available for pre-order here. Read through the tracklist to hear "Diamond in Da Ruff" in the player below.

The Drum Chord Theory:

1.  Spend The Night / If You Were My GF
2.  What Love Is
3.  Where Are Yo Friends?
4.  Baby Girl
5.  Southern Isolation
6.  I Found Me Some Acid Tonight (ft. Steve Lacy)
7.  Alotta Women / Useless (ft. Kari Faux)
8.  Down
9.  Dent Jusay (ft. Syd & Steve Lacy)
10.  Callin' On Me
11.  Diamond in da Ruff
12.  Elevators