Owen Announces New 'L'Ami du Peuple' LP

Owen Announces New 'L'Ami du Peuple' LP
Later this month, Chicago indie rock vet Mike Kinsella will issue both an EP from his new trio Their/They're/There and a 7-inch from his long-running Owen solo project for Record Store Day (April 20), and now he's announced even more material from the latter is due this summer. Owen releases the new full-length L'Ami du Peuple on July 2 through longtime label Polyvinyl.

According to a press release, Kinsella's seventh full-length LP as Owen shakes up his often gentle songwriting style by adding "female vocals, pounding drums, and even duelling electric guitar lines" into the mix. Apparently, this is in part due to the fact that Kinsella opted to work on songs from scratch in the studio with collaborators instead of cocooning himself at home to write by himself.

The 10-song L'Ami du Peuple was recorded over the course of a few months with producer Neil Strauch (Iron & Wine, Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, Andrew Bird) and is said to include anything from electronic blips ("I Got High") to olden-days ragtime melodies ("Where Do I Begin?").

"In the past I've stifled a bunch of my influences and leaned on a couple consistently, but this time I just let each song happen as I heard them and had a lot of fun trying some new things," Kinsella said in a statement.

Lyrically, the set is said to tackle familial issues, notably Kinsella's transition into a father of two. "Instead of being a son whose father passed away, I've moved on to being the father afraid of passing," the artist explained of the shift.

You can sample the hereditary-themed first single "Bad Blood" in the player down below.

L'Ami du Peuple:

1. I Got High

2. Blues to Black

3. Love Is Not Enough

4. Coffin Companions

5. The Burial

6. Bad Blood

7. Who Cares?

8. A Fever

9. Where Do I Begin?

10. Vivid Dreams

Read our timeline on Tim and Mike Kinsella here.