New Swears Announce 'And the Magic of Horses' LP, Share New Track

New Swears Announce 'And the Magic of Horses' LP, Share New Track
After signing to Dine Alone Records late last year, Ottawa party punks New Swears have detailed their first full-length effort for the label. Titled And the Magic of Horses, the band's new LP arrives on June 23.

Ten tracks in length, And the Magic of Horses follows the band's 2014 full-length Junkfood Forever, Bedtime Whatever and their "Brand New Spot"/"Sugar Heavy Metal" 7-inch.

A press release reveals that Ottawa punk icon Paul "Yogi" Granger oversaw recording sessions for the record, helping the band write "their sharpest songs to date, matching a set of lyrics moving past the 24/7 party into existential musings on friendship, death, the afterlife, and what they hope to leave behind."

Along with the album announcement, the band have shared album opener "Dance with the Devil," a tune that was written with the help of an old friend.

"We wrote the song in an old Quebec cottage after a long night turned morning of beers and skipping stones," bassist Sammy J Scorpion told Noisey. "The cottage belonged to the devil himself, Buddy Smiles, who used to live on our couch and takes a guest verse on this song."

Read through the tracklisting and the band's upcoming live dates to hear "Dance with the Devil" in the player below.

And the Magic of Horses:

1. Dance With the Devil
2. Warm Bodies
3. Halos in Hell
4. Comfortably Hungover
5. 777
6. Le Poison
7. Cry a Lot
8. Vanilla
9. Race to the Grave
10. Walkin' to Rockin'

Tour dates:

04/21 Toronto, ON - The Garrison*
06/23 Ottawa, ON - House of TARG (All Ages)
06/24 Ottawa, ON - House of TARG (19+)

*with Greys and Solids