New Antony and the Johnsons Album Gets Release Date

New Antony and the Johnsons Album Gets Release Date
Following the recent Another World EP, Antony and the Johnsons have finally firmed up some release details for the group’s long-awaited new album, The Crying Light. According to several media reports, the album is scheduled to drop in the UK on January 19 courtesy of Rough Trade. The day after (January 20), Canada and the U.S. will get the record via Antony’s North American home, Secretly Canadian.

The album will mark the third release under the Antony and the Johnsons banner and this time feature several symphonic arrangements by Nico Muhly. As previously reported, it will also apparently deal with Antony Hegarty’s struggling relationship with the natural world.

While talking to now-defunct magazine Harp earlier this year, Hegarty had this to say about The Crying Light: "It's about landscape and the future. I guess I'm thinking about those things a lot — about the natural landscape of the world and the landscape inside each person. On my last record, everything was sort of sad and redemptive. And this one, it's more extreme in both directions. Some of the songs are much more joyful, and some of the songs are much less redemptive. And then some of the songs are more thoughtful, more philosophical. I think this record is just about sitting with things."

The Crying Light tracklisting:

1. "Her Eyes Are Underneath the Ground”
2. "Epilepsy Is Dancing”
3. "One Dove”
4. "Kiss My Name”
5. "The Crying Light”
6. "Another World”
7. "Daylight and the Sun”
8. "Aeon”
9. "Dust and Water”
10. "Everglade”
Antony and the Johnsons "Another World”