Loscil Announces New Album 'Equivalents'

Hear the record's "Equivalent 7" now
Loscil Announces New Album 'Equivalents'
Just over two years removed from releasing his Monument Builders album, Vancouver-based composer Loscil has shared details of a follow-up effort. Titled Equivalents, Scott Morgan's 12th Loscil album is set to arrive August 16 through Kranky.

Eight tracks in length, the album takes its title from an influential series of photographs of clouds taken by taken by Alfred Stieglitz from 1925 to 1934. The album's artwork, seen above, was shot by Morgan himself.

Alongside the announcement, Morgan has shared the album track "Equivalent 7," which you can hear below. A press release notes that the song began as a dance score for frequent collaborator Vanessa Goodman, while the LP version was reworked alongside fellow Vancouverite Secret Pyramid (a.k.a. Amir Abbey).


1. Equivalent 1
2. Equivalent 3
3. Equivalent 6
4. Equivalent 5
5. Equivalent 2
6. Equivalent 8
7. Equivalent 7
8. Equivalent 4