Antony and the Johnsons 'Cut the World' with New Live Album

Antony and the Johnsons 'Cut the World' with New Live Album
A couple of years back, Antony and the Johnsons hinted that they might retire from touring. And while the group haven't stopped playing shows outright, their live schedule has indeed been a little sparse. That's why it's especially good news that we'll be getting an official document of the group's show in the form of a new live album.

Entitled Cut the World, the record will arrive on August 7 via Secretly Canadian. It was recorded on September 2 and 3 of last year in Copenhagen, Denmark, and features the Danish National Chamber Orchestra.

The songs here are largely culled from Antony and the Johnsons' four LPs, but the title track is the first official release of a song from the 2011 opera The Life and Death of Marina Abramović, which co-starred singer/namesake Antony Hegarty.

According to a press release, the album "represents Antony's continued meditation on light, nature and femininity" and includes a speech called "Future Feminism" that addresses "possibility of shifting towards feminine systems of governance in a gesture to restore our world" and "the effects of patriarchy on the global ecology." Listen to that speech below the tracklist.

Cut the World:

1. Cut the World
2. Future Feminism
3. Cripple and the Starfish
4. You Are My Sister
5. Swanlights
6. Epilepsy Is Dancing
7. Another World
8. Kiss My Name
9. I Fell In Love with a Dead Boy
10. The Rapture
11. The Crying Light
12. Twilight